home

Author Topic: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07  (Read 50710 times)

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« on: May 11, 2007, 06:06:50 AM »
Firstly, special mention must go out to GT and wisenheimer, for writing up the original and new FAQ / abbreviations list, as well as everyone else who contributed.

Here is a list of commonly asked questions on the forum regarding the Empire (and its foes).  This FAQ listing will be updated when we come across answers to those sticky questions that are asked.

GW's FAQ's

Here is a link to GW's 7th ed FAQ page.


Q: What does the abbreviation * mean?
A: Here's a list of most commonly used abbreviations:

Real World Abbreviations

GW - Games Workshop
WD - White Dwarf
OOP - Out of Production
WAAC - Win at all costs
OTT - Over the top, excessive in some way
RAW - Rules as Written
LGS/FLGS - Friendly local gaming store
WYSIWYG - What you see is what you get - meaning that a model is suitably represented on the tabletop compared to the stats (and equipment) that it sports on paper.
IRL - In Real Life
GT - Grand Tournament
RTT - Rogue Trader Tournament
RT - Rogue Trader (Tournament)
GS - Green Stuff

General Warhammer Abbreviations

WHFB/WFB - Warhammer Fantasy Battle
BRB - The Big Red Book or the Warhammer rule book
AB - Army Book

Scroll Caddie - lv1 Wizard with the sole purpose of carrying 2 dispel scrolls for magic defence.
CP - Casting Pool
DP - Dispel Pool
DD - Dispel Dice
DS - Dispel Scroll
RiP - Remains in Play (depending on context)

BSB - Battle Standard Bearer
RnF - Rank and File
HW - Hand Weapon
HW+S - Hand Weapon and Shield
HtH/H2H - Hand to Hand (the combat phase)
AHW, EHW - Additional / Extra Hand Weapon
HB - Halberd
GW - Great Weapon
HG - Handgun
XBow - Crossbow
LA - Light Armour
HA - Heavy Armour
FPA - Full Plate Armour
SH - Shield
CA - Chaos Armour
WH - Warhorse
BWH - Barded Warhorse

FC - Full Command
Nilla - Plain, without upgrades
Muso/mus - Musician
STD, SB - Standard Bearer
BT - Bolt Thrower
AS - Armor Save
WS - Ward Save
WB - War Banner
ItP - Immune to Psychology
CR - Combat Resolution
ASF - Always Strike First

DoW - Dogs of War
RoR - Regiment of Renown

Gunline - Imperial or Dwarf Army with lots and lots of shooters and maxed out artillery (usually 6 pieces)
Quote
A Gunline is not a piece of your army - it is your army.  Something like an army composed of nothing but Missile troops, WarMachines, Wizards and perhaps Warrior Priests and Steam Tanks.
SAD - Shooty Army of Death or Skaven Army of Doom
MSU - Minimum Sized Units or Multiple Shooty Units, depending on context. Used most often by DE and OK.

SoC - Storm of Chaos (2004? campaign)
NC - Nemesis Crown (2007 campaign)

Empire Specific Abbreviations

Special Characters
KF - Karl Franz
KH - Kurt Helborg
BG - Balthazar Gelt
LH - Luthor Huss

Characters
AL - Arch Lector
GotE - General of the Empire EC: Elector count
EC - Elector Count
TGM/GM - Templar Grand Master
WL - Wizard Lord
BSB - Battle Standard Bearer
Captasus - Captain on Pegasus
Huntasus - Captasus dedicated to mage hunting.
Caskesus/Casketsus/Casketus – Captain on Pegasus with Aldreds Casket of Sorcery
WP - Warrior Priest
ME - Master Engineer
BW - Battle Wizard
Scroll Caddy - Level 1 (or 2) Wizard with 2 Dispel Scrolls

Equipment
RF - Runefang
MoH - Mace of Helstrum
HoJ - Hammer of Judgement
SoM/SoP/SoS/SoB/SoJ - Sword of: might/power/striking/battle/justice
AoMI - Armour of Meteoric Iron
HR - Holy Relic
WC - White Cloak
RoP - Rod of Power
SoD - Seal of Destruction
Hexstaff - extra arcane magic item that the Empire received for being on the winning side of the Albion campaign
VHS - Van Horstmann's Speculum
LoV - Laurels of Victory
IoM - Icon of Magnus
DR - Doomfire Ring
RoV - Ring of Volans
WA - War Altar
HLR - Hochland Long Rifle
RHG - Repeater Handgun
RP - Repeater Pistol
GL - Grenade Launcher
PB - Pigeon Bombs

Units
HB - Halberdiers
FC - Free Company
Nilla Knights - A unit of plain Knights, unnamed and without upgrades.
KoWW/WW - Knights of the White Wolf
IC - Inner Circle (upgrade for knights)
OR - Outriders
GS - Greatswords
Flaggies - Flagellants
GC - Great Cannon
HVG or HBVG - Helblaster Volley Gun
HRB - Helstorm Rocket Battery
ST/Stank - Steam Tank

Other
AoM - Army of Middenheim
CoU - Cult of Ulric
EiN - The End is Nigh (Flagellants Special Rule)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2007, 11:25:31 PM by Warlord »
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 06:02:58 AM »
Characters & Equipment

Q: When the Arch Lector dies, does the War Altar get removed as well?
A: No. Strangely enough, it stays under your control.

Q: Can an Arch Lector have 2 remains in play prayers going at the same time.
A: Short answer, no.  GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Does using the War Altars bound spell remove any remains in play prayers the Arch Lector cast?
A: Short answer, no.  GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Our discussion on the subject is integrated with the above FAQ.

Q: What Weapon Skill do you use when attacking the War Altar?
A: You use the WS of the steeds pulling the chariot (if you are attacking the chariot). If you are attacking the Arch Lector, you use his. This is in the BRB.
Here is our discussion on the subject

Q: What is 'Fiery Demagogue'?
A: Fiery Demagogue is a special rule or ability for Luthor Huss that GW playtested, but removed from his rules. However they missed it in the proof reading for the final release of the New Empire Book. It does not mean anything.

Q: Does a Warrior Priest’s Hatred affect his mount, and the mounts of a unit he is in?
A: Yes. BRB p79. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Does a Warrior Priest's Hatred or Prayers affect the detachments for the unit he is in?
A: No, detachments are not affected.

Q: Can a prayer be cast on a friendly monstrous mount?
A: No. Prayers can only be cast on characters or unit champions.

Q: Can the re-rolls from the Hammer of Sigmar prayer be used to re-roll the impact hits or horse attacks from the War Altar?
A: No. "Because the rider and mount can be hit separately, any saves and other special rules of the character (including those from magic items, spells, etc.) are not passed to it mount, and viceversa." (GW FAQ)
Here is our recent discussion on the subject.

Q: Can Empire characters join a Dogs of War unit, or Regiment of Renown?
A: Short answer, Yes - due to a lack of rules / restriction. GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject, however if you perform a search, you will find many discussions.

Q: Can a wizard use Hammer of Sigmar to re-roll failed to wound rolls on spells?
A: Short Answer, yes. GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may or may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Can Hammer of Sigmar be cast on a character or champion with a missile weapon ?
A: Yes, it is particularly effective on an Outrider champion.

Q: What about an Engineer with the Helblaster Volley Gun?
A: There are 2 solutions to this:
    1/ Yes, the Engineer is 'firing' it as he would any other weapon.
    2/ No, the machine has a crew, and it is the machine rolling to hit, not the engineer directly.
GW have not FAQ'd this. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: What about an Engineer with Pigeon Bombs?
A: There are 3 solutions to this:
    1/ Yes, the Engineer is 'firing' it as he would any other weapon.
    2/ No, however he can reroll failed partial hits for the template.
    3/ No, the roll for Pigeon bombs is not a roll to hit per se.
GW have not FAQ'd this. Our discussion on the subject is integrated with the above FAQ.

Q: Can an Engineer stand and shoot with Pigeons?
A: Yes. Here is our discussion.

Q: Can an Engineer take magic items?
A: No. The Master Engineer is no longer allowed to take magic items, as exhibited in his unit entry. His Engineering toys are supposed to compensate for the lack of magic items.

Q: Reading the description of the Hochland Long rifle it says that 'any' target can be chosen. Would this extend to models that are in units engaged in hth if you could draw an unobstructed LOS to them or does the prohibition against picking a target engaged in hth apply to them as well?
A: You cannot shoot enemies engaged in close combat, because the Engineer/Marksman wouldn't risk hitting his comrades. That rule has precedence.
S: Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

Q: Can enemy magic items and abilities which negate one or more attacks of a model in base to base contact (e.g. Blademaster, Hand of Khaine, Vambraces of the Sun, Cautious Shield, etc.), be used to negate the single S10, D6 wound attack of the Mace of Helstrum?
A: These only reduce the number of Attacks on the profile, and have no effect on special attacks (in this case, the Empire character may have one less Attack, but he simply swaps his remaining attacks for the single S10, D6 wound attack).
S: Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team

Q: Can a unit of Knights led by a Grand Master (making them Immune to Psychology) also benefit from a BSB carrying the Banner of Sigismund (making them stubborn), or a Warrior Priests's Hatred?
A: Yes. BRB p53

Q: How many times may an Empire character armed with the Dragon Bow fire in the Shooting phase?
A. Once.  Unless otherwise mentioned each model can only make one shooting attack in each Shooting phase.  There has been some confusion regarding this item as the unofficial Special Character Valmir Von Raukov on the GW website may fire the Dragon Bow three times in the Shooting phase.  Note however that Von Raukov is allowed to do this due to his "Master Archer" ability and this is not a property of the Dragon Bow.

Q: Can an Empire Wizard use the Lore of Ice?
A: No.

Q: With the magic item the Rod of Power, what magic dice can be saved? Your own Power Dice only, or your own Dispel Dice too, in the opponents magic phase?
A. Both your own Power Dice and Dispel Dice can be saved in the Rod of Power.

Q: Where can I find the rules for the Hexstaff, an "Empire Only" magic item from the Albion campaign?
A: In Warhammer Chronicles 2003

Q: When do I get to measure for using the Crystal Ball?
A: There is no definitive answer for this, however best practise would suggest during your movement phase when moving the wizard carrying the ball. Keep in mind, the usage of the crystal ball is to obtain information on enemy magic items / compositions, not ranges for shooting / charging. Use common sense when measuring for units within 24 inches, there is no need to measure a unit 12 inches away when you clearly can see it is within range.

Core Units

Halberdiers
Q: Why doesn't anyone use Halberdiers as Parent Units?
A: Halberdiers are perhaps the weakest troops in the Empire list, though the fluffiest. Their single attack at WS 3 is much inferior to the higher armor save, initiative, and weapon skill of the swordsmen.

Q: Are they any good as detachments?
A: Halberds are decent as detachments. New detachment rules mean they can carry shields, which adds flexibility. They can have close to the killing power of free company, or close to the survivability of swordsmen.

Missile Units
Q: Which are better, Crossbows or Handguns?
A: Each have their own merits. Crossbows have the extra range (meaning closer short range) and Handguns have the extra penetration. Handgunner marksmen also get special weapon upgrades, however generally this decision comes down to personal preference.

Q: Do Empire handguns still have the 'First volley' rule (first round - extra D6 to range)?
A: This was removed in the 7th ed Empire Army book to make more of a choice between Handgunners and Crossbowmen.

Detachments
Q: When do Empire detachments declare counter-charges and move into contact with the enemy?
A. After the enemy has finished moving ALL the chargers, but before Remaining Moves, the Detachment can declare a counter-charge and move into contact with the enemy.

Q: Can a Parent Unit have a detachment(s) of the same troop type?  For example could a unit of 10 handgunners take 2 detachments of 5 handgunners?
A. Yes. While the introduction to the detachment rules seems to indicate that detachments are armed differently than the parent units, no where in the actual detachment rules does it state that the detachments must be armed differently than the parent.

Q: Do Detachments for a Greatsword unit count towards Core or Special categories with respect to unit composition?
A: Core. The fact thay they are fielded as detachments doesn't change anything (Note: this does not mean they contribute to minimum amount of core units)

Q: Can I buy extra equipment for my detachments?
A: Yes. The rule restricting extra equipment for detachments has been removed with the 7th edition Empire army book.

Q: What are the best troop choices for combat detachments? What formation should they be?
A: Free Company are good at dishing out damage, so are best used in a wide and shallow formation such as 5x2. Swordsmen are best used to deny enemy kills, so benefit from a narrow and deep formation, such as 3x3. As mentioned above, Halberdiers give good flexibility, and so the best formation would match the role you choose for them.

Q: What are 3x3 detachments? I thought the minimum frontage for a detachment needed to be 4?
A: The minimum frontage of detachments has been taken away. 3x3 size detachments are a maneuveourable block which makes counter charging easier, and enemy charges into detachments harder.

Q: A detachment can use the parent units leadership for leadership tests. If the Parent unit is with range of the General, can this leadership be transferred on to the detachment when they are not in range? Same question for BSB purposes?
A: No. This is a change from 6th edition Empire. Here is a recent discussion on the subject.

Q: Can a parent unit have a detachment of Huntsmen? What are the benefits?
A: Yes, a parent unit can have a detachment of Huntsmen, however there are no benefits to this at all. The detachment rules explicitly state that a detachment MUST be placed when a parent unit is, and the Scout rules state that they MUST be placed after all other deployments.

Special Units

Pistoliers
Q: How many Shots does a group of 5 Pistoliers with Marksman Champion wielding a Repeater Pistol get?
A: Each individual Pistolier gets two each for a total of 8 hitting at BS3. The Champion gets 3 for his repeater pistol, and 1 for his regular pistol hitting at BS4. 12 S4, -2 AS shots.

Q: How many attacks do pistoliers get in combat?
A: The fusilade rule has been removed, and according to the BRB, 2 hand weapons cannot be used when mounted. Pistol rules for close combat are also clear. So a unit of pistoliers will get 1 attack each at S3, and each of their mounts will get 1 attack each at S3.

Q: Is the Repeater Pistol a Pistol for rules purposes? It's rules do not explicitly state it is a pistol, so does it have long range, etc.?
A: It is a pistol. It is in the name of the item.
GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is more information on our discussion.

Outriders
Q: Can outriders move and fire because they are fast cavalry?
A: No. The rules for Repeater Handguns trump the fast cavalry rule. If the champion has an appropriate weapon (such as Repeater Pistol), he can however.

Rare Units

Flagellants
Q: In close combat rounds after the first, if I martyr flagellants, do I gain any benefit from hatred?
A: Short answer, No. GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Does martyring flagellants affect your rank bonus, or is rank bonus worked out first, and then martyrs removed?
A: No, martyring flagellants does not affect the units rank bonus (until the subsequent round). GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Do Flagellants get the bonus from martyr when they overrun into an ongoing close combat?
A: Not yet looked up / discussed...

Gryphon Legion
Q: Can the Gryphon Legion when using the 'Mercenaries' Special Rule take a Magic Standard from the Empire Magic Items list?
A: Yes. They can take any banner up to 50pts with the exception of banners restricted to Knightly Orders only.

Steam Tank
Q: Does a Steam Tank get to attack in the enemy turn?
A: No. It can only generate steam points in your turn, therefore cannot attack. The engineer can stand and shoot however.

Q: Can a Steam Tank pursue or overrun?
A: No.

Q: What does the Brass Orb do to the Steam Tank?
A: There are 3 possible outcomes from our discussions.
    1/ Takes 3D6 wounds (saves as normal)
    2/ Ignored because there is no given strength and rules are written poorly
    3/ Initiative test is failed, so Steam Tank destroyed
This issue is yet to be FAQ'd by GW. Here are our discussion on the subject.

Q: What does the Screaming Bell do to the Steam Tank?
A: There are 2 possible outcomes from our discussions.
    1/ Takes 4D6 wounds (saves as normal)
    2/ Ignored because it does not have structural hit points
The issues is yet to be FAQ'd by GW. Here is our discussion on the subject (starts on the end of the first page)

Q: How does the Hand of Dust work on the Steam Tank?
A: There are 2 possible outcomes
    1/ Steam Tank is destroyed
    2/ Has no affect - as per the rule requiring a given strength value
The issue is yet to be FAQ'd by GW. Here is our discussion on the subject.

Q: Do Bretonnian Defensive Stakes stop Steam Tank Impact hits, as the Steam Tank rules suggest it ignores all obstacles?
A: Yes. The rules for Defensive stakes explicitly state that charge bonuses (including impact hits) are not allowed, and does not mention at all Defensive Stakes being classed as an 'Obstacle'.

Q: Does the Bretonnian 'Virtue of Heroism' allow Killing Blow against the Steam Tank?
A: Yes. There are no restrictions in the BRB in regards to Killing Blow against War Machines.

Q: Do the Steam Tanks Impact Hits from Grinding affect all units in combat with it, or just one?
A: There is no clear answer on the subject, however rules subtly suggest that it may be all units in combat with it.
Here is our recent discussion on the topic.

Dogs of War

Q: Are Dogs of War still legal in our list, even though they are not in our Army Book?
A: The DoW PDF is still current and on the GW website, until a new DoW document is released it counts as an army book irrespective of the original place of print, be it chronicles or annuals. GW have already said that all army books are valid until replaced by a new version. The option as discussed countless times on the forum, was removed from the Army Books because DoW are not legal in any GW run event, not because you cannot use them in any non GW event or friendly game. It is horribly confusing but it has already been clarrified by Allesso that DoW are part of the WHFB world and that the PDF on the GW website stating which troops may be used by which armies, complete with the slot they take up for both RoR and DoW, remains valid.
Here and here are our recent discussions on the subject.

Q: Where can I find the rules for including Ogres (such as Bulls and Ironguts) in my Empire Army?
A: The rules for these specific types of Ogres are detailed in the Ogre Kingdoms Armybook. There is also an Ogre unit choice in the Dogs of War List. Both are legal and valid options.

Q: Where can I find the rules for Johann and Wilhelm - the DoW Witchhunters?
A: They are in the 2002 Annual. Here is a link to some discussion about them.

Storm of Chaos

Q: Where can I find the rules for the Warrior Priest of Ulric?
A: UK WD279, US WD279, AUS WD281 or the Annual/Chronicles 2004

Q: Where can I find the Cult of Ulric army list?
A: UK WD 289, US WD 280, AUS WD 282, or On the GW website

Q: Where can I find the Army of Middenland army list?
A: On the GW website

Soc FAQ
Quote from: Storm of Chaos FAQ
Army of Middenland:

Q: Do I choose exactly when I want to use the Shard of Skolll? Or is it assumed to always be in use and therefore can be spent at any time?
A: You must specify that you are using the Shard of Skoll, so you can choose when to use it.

Q: It says that the Hunt Master cannot be singled out by missile fire, yet isn’t he quite bigger (a man on a horse) than the rest of the unit (hounds)?
A: The Hunt Master cannot be singled out as he is regarded as the same size (i.e., on a cavalry base) as the hounds.

Q: The Cloak of Anraheir says that the bearer causes Fear in Minotaurs. Minotaurs would normally be immune to Fear as they themselves cause Fear, so how does work?
A: The bearer of the Cloak causes Fear to Minotaurs, even though they would normally be immune to Fear.

Q: Although Crossbowmen and Handgunners are Rare units, can they be taken as detachments for Core units?
A: No. They can only be taken as parent units, not as detachments at all.

If you have any additions to this list, please post them here, however be aware that I will update the main post and remove the extra posts to keep this thread simple and easy to read.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2008, 01:10:56 PM by Warlord »
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2007, 11:27:31 PM »
- Updated Virtue of Heroism
- Updated Empire Characters and Dogs of War
- Updated Gryphon Legion and Magic Standards
- Updated Weapon Skill vs the War Altar
« Last Edit: December 11, 2007, 05:41:23 AM by Warlord »
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline eSBeN84

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2008, 12:08:15 PM »
Q: Does the Bretonnian 'Virtue of Heroism' allow Killing Blow against the Steam Tank?
A: Yes. There are no restrictions in the BRB in regards to Killing Blow against War Machines.

Killing Blows are restricted to unit stregth 2 creatures. And cannot harm the steamtank.

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2008, 12:23:59 PM »
The Virtue of Heroism gives the Bretonnian hero the killing blow ability for large targets. There are arguably no Large Targets in the game that have US < 2.
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline eSBeN84

  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2008, 04:35:48 PM »
Did't know that. :icon_confused: sorry

Offline farmer

  • Posts: 536
  • Victory is life
    • View Profile
    • Home
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2008, 01:55:30 PM »
Hello,

I have seen the official FAQ for the GW Grand Tournament here in the UK. If I knew how on would put a link on for you. In the FAQ it says that the pit of shades does not work against the Steam Tank. Also the Hand of dust does work because it provides the model with the ability as opposed to affecting the Stank itself.

Just thought you should know  :icon_cool:

http://warhammerworld.typepad.com/warhammer_world_news/2008/01/latest-warhamme.html
« Last Edit: February 26, 2008, 11:45:38 AM by farmer »
"We fight them with our steel, we fight them with our courage, but above all we fight them with our faith in Sigmar!"

(Magnus the Pious outside the gates of Kislev)

Offline Gary

  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2008, 03:08:22 PM »
Just thought you folks might be interested in this courtesy of BF from Direwolf. Looks like you might be getting an official Empire FAQ in the very near future ;-)...

Quote
As many (or may not) know, I have been providing
Alessio Cavatore with questions for GW's Shrine of
Knowledge update project over the past 60 days.

Yesterday, I submitted the lengthy list of 7th editon
main rules questions which were collected over the
month of January on The Warhammer Forum.

Alessio thanked the community for submitting the
questions and provided me with an update on the status
of his efforts on the update project.

Two FAQs for army books have been completed (Wood
Elves / Empire )and we should hopefully be seeing them
by February month end on the SoK website.

In addition Alessio was kind enough to answer the
Salamander / Flaming Attacks questions.

Per Alessio the Salamander 'Spout Flame' attack does
indeed count as Flaming. As the Lizardmen FAQ on the
SoK is in very good shape he doesn't expect to amend
the FAQ, but will make sure that there is a note
placed in the UK GT rulespack to that effect.

The Direwolf Lizardmen FAQ has been updated to reflect
Alessio's answer as the Source. (The answer matches
the same answer we received from Anthony Reynolds
several years ago).

Regards,

BF
Direwolf FAQ Keeper

Cheers, Gary
Administrator - Bugman's Brewery

Offline Duke of Wight

  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #8 on: February 02, 2008, 03:58:51 AM »
Can you the prayer healing hand on a steam tank to give it its wounds back

Offline Dendo Star

  • Posts: 4115
  • And......loving it.
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #9 on: February 02, 2008, 04:24:18 AM »
No - for two reasons.  One, the Steam Tank ignores all spells and Magical effects that do not attack it with given Strength value.  Two, Healing Hand only allows you to target Champions and Characters - which the Steam Tank is neither of.
I'm in college!

Offline Arcano

  • Posts: 167
  • The one who Is, Was and always will be - Arcano
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2008, 07:01:29 PM »
I think that the Links here needs an Update, Since they have remade the US site and the link to the GW FAQ does not work properly
Arcano - Everchosen of Sigmar

Offline stretch_135

  • Posts: 1004
  • Resident Tall Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #11 on: August 19, 2008, 12:14:42 AM »
Just noticed this hasn't been updated in a while. Specifically:

Quote
Flagellants
Q: In close combat rounds after the first, if I martyr flagellants, do I gain any benefit from hatred?
A: Short answer, No. GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Here is our discussion on the subject.

This was FAQ'd in the Empire FAQ, and flaggelants do benefit from hatred.

Quote
War Altar
Q: Does using the War Altars bound spell remove any remains in play prayers the Arch Lector cast?
A: Short answer, no.  GW have not FAQ'd this, and it may not require it. Our discussion on the subject is integrated with the above FAQ.

FAQ'd in Empire FAQ that the AL does indeed cast the spell, so will cause in RIP spells to be dispelled

Quote
Q: What does the Screaming Bell do to the Steam Tank?
A: There are 2 possible outcomes from our discussions.
    1/ Takes 4D6 wounds (saves as normal)
    2/ Ignored because it does not have structural hit points
The issues is yet to be FAQ'd by GW. Here is our discussion on the subject (starts on the end of the first page)

FAQ'd in the Empire FAQ: just translate "Structure Points" into "Wounds". Same solution is given for the Brass Orb question.


Tehe, I hate me for proofreading  :engel:
On the quest to get my painting in the red this year...follow the madness here: Blog!

Offline farmer

  • Posts: 536
  • Victory is life
    • View Profile
    • Home
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #12 on: November 01, 2008, 01:03:09 PM »
When is this going to get updated ?
"We fight them with our steel, we fight them with our courage, but above all we fight them with our faith in Sigmar!"

(Magnus the Pious outside the gates of Kislev)

Offline Obi

  • Posts: 5324
  • Rest in peace Nate
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2008, 07:42:20 PM »
Indeed, an update is due, I think.
Q: Can a parent unit have a detachment of Huntsmen? What are the benefits?
A: Yes, a parent unit can have a detachment of Huntsmen, however there are no benefits to this at all. The detachment rules explicitly state that a detachment MUST be placed when a parent unit is, and the Scout rules state that they MUST be placed after all other deployments.
I think this answer isn't entirely clear, right now it looks as if the entire unit (parent and detachment) will get to scout.

Q: Do the Steam Tanks Impact Hits from Grinding affect all units in combat with it, or just one?
A: There is no clear answer on the subject, however rules subtly suggest that it may be all units in combat with it.
Here is our recent discussion on the topic.
I believe this was also covered in the recent FAQ
Hello Athiuen and welcome to the Back Table.

caveat lector
I killed a duck with a spear, can't read train timetables though
"To be is to do"-Socrates;
"To do is to be"-Sartre;
"Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #14 on: November 10, 2008, 06:20:46 AM »
I will work to update this in about a week and a half.

Work is exceptionally busy this week, and I have an exam early next week, so afterwards I should have some time to do this...
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline Obi

  • Posts: 5324
  • Rest in peace Nate
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #15 on: November 10, 2008, 09:07:04 AM »
I will work to update this in about a week and a half.

Work is exceptionally busy this week, and I have an exam early next week, so afterwards I should have some time to do this...
Sounds great, we definitely appreciate the effort!
Hello Athiuen and welcome to the Back Table.

caveat lector
I killed a duck with a spear, can't read train timetables though
"To be is to do"-Socrates;
"To do is to be"-Sartre;
"Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra

Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #16 on: December 23, 2008, 10:12:19 AM »
This may sound kind of noob, but in my searches around the site I keep seeing "TVI", yet I don't know/can't find what it means. Could someone please help me?

Thanks in advance.
+1 Strength is irrellevant when everyones dead.
Empire Record 2010:
W-D-L
 0-0-2

Offline Fandir Nightshade

  • Posts: 8349
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #17 on: December 23, 2008, 10:22:38 AM »
The village idiot TVI it is a tactic using infantry to let the enemy bounce of you lines and chase the enemy off the board with knights. Could be in the War room tacticas.

Offline Obi

  • Posts: 5324
  • Rest in peace Nate
    • View Profile
Hello Athiuen and welcome to the Back Table.

caveat lector
I killed a duck with a spear, can't read train timetables though
"To be is to do"-Socrates;
"To do is to be"-Sartre;
"Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra

Offline Warlord

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 7786
  • Sydney, Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2009, 12:09:19 AM »
With the new BRB FAQ out, this thread will be getting an update soon (including all of your questions too).

To help with the process, are there are FAQs that have come up in recent weeks / months in the Electors Forum that you believe warrant being on this updated list?

Any High Elf, Vampire Count, Dark Elf, Daemon or Warriors of Chaos questions that affect us?
Quote from: Gneisenau
I hate people who don't paint their armies, hate them with all my guts. Beats me how they value other things over painting, like eating or brushing teeth.

Offline Taishar

  • Posts: 320
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2009, 06:22:05 AM »
First time I played anyone that thought this, but can warrior priests (and by extension the arch lector) take arcane items?  Was pretty sure they didn't count as wizards.


Cheers
7 Time Best General Winner
Empire
Wood Elves (Retired)

Offline stretch_135

  • Posts: 1004
  • Resident Tall Guy
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2009, 06:44:53 AM »
First time I played anyone that thought this, but can warrior priests (and by extension the arch lector) take arcane items?  Was pretty sure they didn't count as wizards.


Cheers

No, they can't. You're right, the don't count as Wizards, so therefore can't take arcane items.
On the quest to get my painting in the red this year...follow the madness here: Blog!

Offline Obi

  • Posts: 5324
  • Rest in peace Nate
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2009, 01:36:51 PM »
Warlord, could this perhaps get an update very soon? That way I can add it to the wiki? If not, just say so and I'll update this version with the errata we posted and put that up on the wiki. I'm also willing to link here, but in that case it'd be nice of the first post could be updated....
Hello Athiuen and welcome to the Back Table.

caveat lector
I killed a duck with a spear, can't read train timetables though
"To be is to do"-Socrates;
"To do is to be"-Sartre;
"Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra

Offline Moriar

  • Posts: 360
    • http://www.facebook.com/martindahl2
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #23 on: June 27, 2009, 01:48:43 PM »
Warlord, could this perhaps get an update very soon? That way I can add it to the wiki? If not, just say so and I'll update this version with the errata we posted and put that up on the wiki. I'm also willing to link here, but in that case it'd be nice of the first post could be updated....

Quite alot of these questions have been covered in the GW FAQ that was last updated May 2008. Would be nice to get an update of this post soon so we dont go spreading misinformation.

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1540044_Empire_FAQ_2008-05_Edition.pdf
My Nuln army painting log
And the generals gave thanks. As the other ranks, held back the enemy tanks! For a while. -Pink Floyd

Offline TexasYankee

  • Posts: 939
    • View Profile
Re: Empire FAQ and Abbreviations - updated 10/12/07
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2009, 05:54:30 AM »
OK, stupid newbie questions (as oppossed to smart newbie questions); 1 - The rules state Spearmen fight in two ranks, but does this count only on the denfense? If I charge with them, do I get to use two ranks? If already engaged in HTH, do I get to use two ranks when I attack? 2 - I have an army builder (from wolflair) that shows my Spearmen getting a 4+ AS when engaged in close combat when e/w shields, just like swordsmen. Do they need to make a correction? Again, thanks for putting up with my blatant ignorance!  :blush:
So, what would you guys do if some dude came at you with a belt that way?
Make sure I've got the safeword memorised.