home

Author Topic: Official: how to pile-in  (Read 195 times)

Offline StealthKnightSteg

  • Posts: 3680
  • Squishing Squickhoppers since 1999
    • https://www.facebook.com/vincent.goede
    • View Profile
    • My wargaming blog
Official: how to pile-in
« on: December 08, 2016, 05:25:55 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5_PIkHDPpE

So half the shenanigans are now legal..at least base to base contact is no more moving! To bad it doesn't show how to, in the last bit, with more models on the receiving end..
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, but some abuse the privilege.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." -- Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

Offline Baron von Klatz

  • Posts: 1347
  • warhammer> All other works of mankind
    • View Profile
Re: Official: how to pile-in
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2016, 09:33:55 PM »
Good video, I was hoping it'd be like the cheesy base announcements though. :biggriin:

"No battle is ever meaningless for all life is merely death post-poned"
-elector count of the Empire.

Offline The Peacemaker

  • Posts: 2049
  • Baron Karl von Balombine of Wissenland
    • View Profile
Re: Official: how to pile-in
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2016, 05:56:09 AM »
Good video, I was hoping it'd be like the cheesy base announcements though. :biggriin:
What was the cheesy base announcement?
For Wissenland and the Countess!!!

My Painting Blog
My Entire Gallery

Offline Oxycutor

  • Posts: 1636
    • View Profile
Re: Official: how to pile-in
« Reply #3 on: December 13, 2016, 10:35:22 AM »
I hope they do more of these game rule clarifications.   This was already something we were doing right.

I still think my favourite Warhammer TV videos were two they did for the Chaos Black XL spray cans

Offline The Peacemaker

  • Posts: 2049
  • Baron Karl von Balombine of Wissenland
    • View Profile
Re: Official: how to pile-in
« Reply #4 on: December 13, 2016, 10:22:35 PM »
I hope they do more of these game rule clarifications.   This was already something we were doing right.

I still think my favourite Warhammer TV videos were two they did for the Chaos Black XL spray cans
I played 2 games and we were doing it wrong. I moved a dude out of the way and my buddy said "can you do that?". We checked the rules and figured....well retreating is classed as moving out of 3 inches so as long as I stay within 3" during my shuffle then its fine.
For Wissenland and the Countess!!!

My Painting Blog
My Entire Gallery

Offline Oxycutor

  • Posts: 1636
    • View Profile
Re: Official: how to pile-in
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2016, 11:10:00 PM »
It can take a few games to really get it right, and people get mixed up by the restrictions each phase can have on movement.

For any type of move - Movement phase, run, charge, pile-in, retreat etc a unit must retain unit coherency, you can use that restriction to your advantage some times, especially to control pile-ins.  If it can't, it can't move, and the only move it can make is a retreat

In the movement phase you can't get end a move closer to an enemy unit than 3"   even with some of the teleport abilities that let you move with x" of a model, the overall rules still apply

In the charge phase, each model can move up to distance rolled - you don't have to declare what you're charging, in fact you can roll, then pick, and you only fail a charge if you can't reach anything.   To complete a charge, you only need to get one model to withing 0.5" of an enemy unit

In the pile-in phase units that are within 3" of an enemy unit, models can pile-in up to 3" toward the NEAREST enemy model.   That doesn't mean you need to reach it, or go in a straight line, just that you need to finish the move close than you already were.   If you are already touching, then you can't move any closer, so can't pile-in, and that includes shuffling moving around a model.