home

Author Topic: newbie here. How do Cannons work?  (Read 2497 times)

Offline cpt.Piggy

• Members
newbie here. How do Cannons work?
« on: February 19, 2017, 06:49:51 PM »
Hi all

I new to the Gaming aspect. got around 70 troops and an Empire Cannon.

I been visiting my local Games workshop / Warhammer store (very friendly people), where i will most probably be playing my first games.
it seems to be all AoS over there so will probably be playing that.

while i paint my General, i been reading up on rules / warscrolls.
(I really like my hand-Gunners, so was quite pleased to see buffs from *steady aim* / *handgun volley* / *hold line*  :roll: )

I was looking into how cannon works and i cant figure out the way it works. in what way is damage inflicted?

does it fire solid or explosive shot

i once heard somthing about aiming cannon, and rolling dice to determine where/how it bounces, distance etc.
are they outdated rules?

then there are those round templates for determining 'area of effect' for explosive rounds.
are they used in AoS?

if a solid shot, does it plough through enemy ranks?

i think i understand the way to determine regular combat / shooting phase (hit/wound/save/rend etc) and how to warscroll is used in that,
but looking at Cannon warscroll:

-range: 40"
-attacks: (there is just a star there, no numbers?)
-hit / wound / rend: i think i understand
-damage: D6 (not sure what that means?)

how is shooting single target (enemy hero / beast) calculated vs shooting a large unit of lots of infantry?

(sorry for bloated post, probably could have done 2 line question  :icon_eek: )

Offline Artobans Ghost

• Bar Brawlers
  • Members
Re: newbie here. How do Cannons work?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2017, 08:52:08 PM »