home

Author Topic: Building an Army (Devoted of Sigmar + Friends)  (Read 2102 times)

CXIV

Building an Army (Devoted of Sigmar + Friends)
« on: April 25, 2017, 04:55:16 AM »
Hello!

I am not a newbie to AoS but have finally decided to dive into Free People's. So far I have Volkmar on War Altar, Warrior Priest, and two boxes of flagellants and a witch hunter and warrior priest on order -- to form the Pilgrimage of Wrath group. Furthermore, I have 20 Freeguild Militia models and a steam tank, which aren't part of the Devoted of Sigmar faction. So here are a few questions I have.

1) How many models do I need in a unit of flagellants to make them effective?

2) On top of the Steam Tank and 20 militiamen, what else should I get to go along with my army?

Thanks,

CXIV  :-P

Offline StealthKnightSteg

• Members
  • Squishing Squickhoppers since 1999
    • https://www.facebook.com/vincent.goede
Re: Building an Army (Devoted of Sigmar + Friends)
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2017, 08:46:16 PM »
I think you need atleast 20 flaggelants per group, but 30 would be even better as you actually want to lose models in combat. Anything that can buff their horrible hit/wound stat is a pre to take.

As for others, a solid block of guard (swords) and some range units would be beneficial
Everyone is entitled to be stupid, but some abuse the privilege.

"Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." -- Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989

Offline Baron von Klatz

• Members
  • warhammer> All other works of mankind
Re: Building an Army (Devoted of Sigmar + Friends)
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2017, 08:36:33 AM »
Welcome to the forum, CXIV! :smile2:

As Stealthknight said, swordsmen are a solid choice and more so with a general backing them.

Do you plan on getting the Excelsior Warpriest as well? His healing is very beneficial for any force.