home

Author Topic: B is for Breast plate: A guide to Imperial weapons and armor  (Read 3774 times)

Offline Angerland

• Members
Well Met!

Midaski was looking for a guide to the weapons and armor that our wonderful figures are weaaring.  I thought I would start things off for us all by taking a look at the State troops and their equipment. I don't have a digital camera so if someone wanted to post some good close picks of the torsos of the state troops it might be easier to follow along with the descriptions.

Anyway this is the thread that will have all the info we can glean from the internet and books on our weapons and armor. Yes this is a fantasy game and there will always be items that have no true real world equivalent but that is ok.

I will need help on a thread like this. Some of you have already volunteered and that is very cool. Feel free to add your .02$ or your EU or other nation's monetary equivalent :). I am no expert, merely an enthusiast. I have read a few good books, and visited some armories and armorers etc...but that doesn't mean I am always right. If someone else has better, info please post it!
The hammer of the Gods
will drive our ships to new lands
to fight the horde, singing and crying
"Valhalla I am coming!"

Offline Angerland

• Members
B is for Breast plate: A guide to Imperial weapons and armor
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2005, 04:43:24 PM »
Let's start with the armor of the state troops, I will get into weapons later on.

Every one of our state troops that actually wear armor are wearing  some kind of back and breast.  This is a 17th century term used to speak generally of armor that consists of a breastplate, backpiece, and some kind of simple open helmet.  As we look at our miniatures we can easily see that there is quite a variety of styles worn. Some are breast pieces only, some have tassets or thigh guards, etc...