home

Author Topic: First Empire List (1k for escalation)  (Read 2793 times)

Offline Exton

• Members
First Empire List (1k for escalation)
« on: April 25, 2015, 02:57:37 AM »
Hey all,

So this will be my proposed list to begin an escalation league at my local store in Calgary.

Now, I'm fairly new to Empire, so I'm definitely looking for some constructive criticism on this, so here goes:

Heroes - 196pts
1 Captain of the Empire
Full Plate, Enchanted Shield

1 Battle Wizard
Level 2, Dispel Scroll
Lore of Heavens (thinking Iceshard would be useful, and hopefully rolling HC for the Demis below)

Core - 390pts
30 Swordsmen - Full Command
20 Halberdiers - Full Command

Special - 294pts
3 Demigryph Knights
1 Great Cannon

Rare - 120 points
1 Helblaster Volley Gun

For models I also have 20 greatswords, 20 flagellants, another wizard, a BSB, 20 more swordsmen and 10 more halberdiers if any of you feel those would slot in better with the list.

Thanks in advance!

Offline Brontes

• Members
Re: First Empire List (1k for escalation)
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2015, 05:29:37 PM »
You need a master engineer when you are going to use the Hellblaster. It will blow up easy without it.

Offline Fidelis von Sigmaringen

• Members
  • Attorney-at-RAW
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2015, 08:32:01 PM »
Not really, In the current edition, the HBVG can stand on its own, although the synergy with the Master Engineer is well worth the points.

In the current edition, 30 is more or less a minimum for a parental regiment.  You might consider using the Halberdiers as Detachment, increasing the Halberdiers and taking Swordsmen as Detachment(s). That would save you at least 30 points (or the CG) and even more if you decrease the size of the Detachments,  points you could use for a musician for the DGKs, a BSB, or more items for your Captain. 
It is not enough to have no ideas of your own; you must also be incapable of expressing them.