home

Author Topic: The Tactical Journal  (Read 7891 times)

Offline Jörgen Andreasson

• Members
The Tactical Journal
« on: January 25, 2012, 10:47:39 PM »
The Tactical Journal

Hi and welcome to my tactical corner of the Warhammer world of fantasy warfare. I'm in no way either a genius or the best general in the world but I have been playing strategy games for over thirty years and Warhammer for at least 25+ years. Truthfully, I really don't remember when I played my first real miniature figure wargame, but I think it was Warhammer Fantasy 1st edition.
I was probably not more than ten years old when I made up my own rules for playing with plastic toy soldiers and using the dice from our families RISK game. :)
I'm no longer a gamer that get the opportunity to play so much these days, perhaps a dozen games a year or so. This do, however, not stop me from thinking about the game (and others) quite allot and one of the reasons I would like to start this article series on this Forum.

If I have the stamina I will try and write many small and/or long articles about strategy in general, many will be specific to Empire in particular. Most of my insights do NOT come from this game alone but from strategy games in general, so, many tips and tricks will be things that can be used in any strategy game. I will, however, keep these articles with focus on how these theories work in the world of Warhammer Fantasy.

The articles will target both strategy (army wide manoeuvring), tactics (multiple unit manoeuvring) and individual army elements (the units). I will also include my thoughts on army list creation and try to describe how I think when I create a list.