home

Author Topic: Need help with army lists for big tournament  (Read 3072 times)

Offline Tomasus

• Members
Need help with army lists for big tournament
« on: June 26, 2015, 06:50:29 PM »
My fellow Generals, I bid you welcome! Although I am somewhat new to the WFB I foolishly agreed to participate in the tournament organised by my friends. The biggest problem for me is that every player has to submit two army lists to our judges and he may use only them during the competition. The battles will be 1v1, 1500p (max.1 lord), 8th Edition. My friends are playing with Dwarfs, High Elves, Warriors of Chaos, Wood Elves, Vampire Counts and Skavens. And I want to make it clear- I'm not skilled enough to win, but I really want to make them fight for every point. Will you help me to achieve that goal?

If your answer is "yes", I'm giving the list of models I currently have (we have a proxy limit of 500p):

2xBattle wizard/wizard lord
Witch hunter
warrior priest
capitan of the Empire
cannon (assembled as a mortar, but noone cares)
18x musketeer
20x state troops
8x knights(can be Reiksguard, again, noone cares)
steam tank

I can also quickly assemble:

10x greatswords
2x musketeer
8x state troops
« Last Edit: June 26, 2015, 08:37:34 PM by Tomasus »

Offline CarolineWellwater

• Members
Re: Need help with army lists for big tournament
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2015, 07:21:44 AM »
(( Tomasus,

First a couple of brief thoughts:

1) At 1500 points, you can get away with having LD in the 7 - 8 range.  It's not fully reliable... but... it's passable.  Especially if you have a BSB to let you re-roll LD tests.

2) At 1500 points, you really don't need a lord-level character.  That'll save you a ton of points to use elsewhere, if you want.

3) For Vampire Counts, taking out the lich is critical.  A good Vampire Counts player can generate some 15 skeletons a turn, easily.  Taking out the Lich will allow you to then really begin melting the Vampire troops.