home

Author Topic: Beginners Question  (Read 2311 times)

Offline 3Fingers

• Members
Beginners Question
« on: February 26, 2010, 08:28:20 PM »
Hi All,

Sorry if this is a basic question, I'm new to both WHFB and Empire. The one thing I seem to be having trouble grasping an understanding of is detachments. I've read several accounts of people saying detachments should be taken as 9 in 3x3 form, and others saying detachments should be taken as 10.

What is the general rule of thumb about how many to put in your attachments and how deep? Is it unit specific? :icon_redface:

Offline Gneisenau

• Members
  • Alleged Ungulate
Re: Beginners Question
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2010, 08:32:37 PM »
Welcome to the forum! :smile2:

People use 3x3 detachments because those have a small frontage, don't leave a big gap in your line, and are difficult for the enemy to charge.

Since units don't need a minimum frontage to negate rank boni in 7th edition, 3x3 is arguably the best formation for close combat detachments.

Somebody will disagree with me in about 5 minutes though, so don't start doing your armylist just yet... :closed-eyes:

Offline Syn Ace

• Members
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2010, 09:15:29 PM »

Somebody will disagree with me in about 5 minutes though, so don't start doing your armylist just yet... :closed-eyes:

Gneisenau is absolutely, completely wrong wrong wrong!  I can't think why, but he just is.

Yeah, 3x3 has its uses if you're short on space during deployment, plus if you want to minimize the chances of your detachment being charged or you want to limit the number of baddies taking a whack at them in combat.
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

— Popularly but incorrectly attributed to William Gibson

Offline Dihenydd

• Members
  • Back on Hiatus
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2010, 10:07:04 PM »