home

Author Topic: Oldhammer, Middlehammer & Newhammer  (Read 951 times)

Offline Karak Norn Clansman

• Members
Oldhammer, Middlehammer & Newhammer
« on: June 10, 2022, 08:36:50 PM »
Being a summary of the most widely recognized formal period classification of Warhammer Fantasy Battles (WHFB) and Age of Sigmar (AoS), used for both forums and Facebook groups:

- Editions 1-3 of WHFB are Oldhammer (1983-1992), roughly the era of Bryan Ansell.

- Editions 4-8 of WHFB are Middlehammer (1992-2015), the era of Tom Kirby.

- All editions of AoS are Newhammer (2015-), the era of Kevin Rountree.

Offline Padre

• Pure of Heart
  • Members
Re: Oldhammer, Middlehammer & Newhammer
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2022, 11:56:17 PM »
Except all that is, IMO, debatable. I, for example, see myself as fully 'Oldhammer' even though I am presently running an 8th ed' campaign. This is because I have been playing since 1983 and 1st edition, and still 'in the same zone' re: how I proceed. The mechanics might change but the spirit and approach is the same. I scratchbuild and kitbash; I campaign in an RP sense (modifying rules and adding rules as necessary); I use any and all figures I can get my hands on, if I think they fit the world.

In other words, I see 'Oldhammer' as an approach/style to playing, not particular rules set(s), and as a continuation from the mid 80's onwards. I might employ the 8th ed rules, but I am still fully in the 1980's in terms of approach and style. Ok so the internet, YouTube and websites have happened in the meantime , but they are just another way of putting my world-background, reports, accounts and stories out there. I am still essentially approaching campaigns and play the same way.

I should add that I have been a part of the Oldhammer website forum for many years, as well as the FB group, and this has been debated many a time. It's just too loose a term to attach specifics to. Whatever one person says it means, another says it doesn't.