home

Author Topic: "Okay, so, which rulebook are we using?"  (Read 1958 times)

Offline EsnRedshirt

• Members
"Okay, so, which rulebook are we using?"
« on: March 07, 2004, 04:47:46 PM »
I'm starting to think some people who should know better are actively hosing me. I'm still a relative newbie- I just started playing in November. Last time I played at the GW store, I was informed that my Captain on a Pegasus was in line of sight to the enemy spellcasters, even though he was directly behind cavalry, because he was on a monster base, and therefore larger than the knights. Additionally, the knights could see over the skirmishing archers in front of them, since they were mounted.

"Wait a second," say I, "that's not how I've played the game. Ever."

I get a second opinion, from another experienced player, and friend of the opponent, who backs it up entirely.

"Wait- if this base size thing is correct, then what's the use of the special rule for Large figures? You're treating the Pegasus as a Large figure because of the monster base, even though it does not have that rule. Where in the rulebook does it say this?" I ask.

"Oh, it's in the Line-of-Sight stuff."

"Hmmm, I'll have to re-read that section tomorrow when I have a chance." I've been wrong before- it's a large rule book, and I don't have it memorized. So my Captain (who was the general as well) spent much of the game hiding behind a forest to avoid pot-shots, unable to offer leadership to my core infantry troops.

When I re-read the rulebook, I started to wonder exactly which rules these guys were using.  Especially since the opponent who foisted this rule off onto me was a three-year veteran player, as well as being a Red Shirt on the clock.

Said employee then proceeded to take on a faux-Transylvanian accent and taunt me as his VC army ("Don't worry, this is a really sucky VC army. Totally weak,") completely massacred my forces.