home

Author Topic: Alternatives to the Cannon?  (Read 3548 times)

Offline Sayomi Akimoto

• Members
Alternatives to the Cannon?
« on: May 21, 2008, 07:58:17 AM »
Hi there, I'm completely new to The Empire (And Warhammer Fantasy in general), and forgive me if this has been answered several hundred times before, but what are the alternatives to the Great Cannon when it comes to big nasties and the like?

I've seen all of the other artillery pieces mentioned, but I was also wondering about non-gunpowder alternatives such as magic or big angry magical weapons? If so, could you please tell me their effectiveness in comparison to the Cannon?

Like I said, forgive me if this has been answered before, and if it has, could someone post the link there?

Offline Jon-Michael Lust

• Members
Re: Alternatives to the Cannon?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 08:13:00 AM »
One of the unique things about the Empire is that our army does not rely on having super characters/magic/monsters of doom to win our battles for us.  We rely on all of the elements of our army working in concert to achieve victory.  Because of this, it can be hard to find things in the army list that can match the great cannon when it comes to taking out big nasties. 

There are a few magic weapons that work well against them, but one must keep in mind that our characters are not the strongest in the Warhammer World and work best when providing support to the battle line, not gallivanting off chasing dragons.  Also, because the Empire has access to all eight lores of magic there are definitely a lot of choices when it comes to finding that school to counter some of your enemy's strengths.  However, magic can be unpredictable and should not be relied on to do the job by itself.