home

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Fidelis von Sigmaringen

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 315
1
1. Nope, no Support Charge anymore - only Counter Charge.

Empire AB p. 30: "Detachments are trained to support their Regimental Units and protect them in battle. If an enemy unit declares a charge against a Regimental Unit, and the Regimental Unit does not flee as a charge reaction, then each of its unengaged Detachments within 3" can make either a Support Fire or a Counter Charge action."

And that is it - there are no rules allowing a Support Charge. 


2. What you said about Support Fire is what I said about Support Fire.

2
The Electors' Forum / Re: Female Warrior Preist from GW
« on: January 22, 2017, 09:54:09 PM »
Is that why you wrote Preist in the title?  :engel:

3
The Electors' Forum / Re: Female Warrior Preist from GW
« on: January 22, 2017, 02:27:43 PM »
What Victor said. She is in the Empire's Collectors Guide.

4
O ye of liitle faith!

Unless specified otherwise, normal rules apply.

In 6/7 ABs, it was specified that Detachments
- do not cause Panic in other Empire units
- do not suffer the -1 modifier for S&S, when conducting Support Fire
- can attack the enemy in the Flank, as long as they have LoS and enough movement, when executing a Counter/Support Charge

The 8 AB does not specify any of these, therefore normal rules apply. Note that 8 AB also does not allow a Support Charge anymore.

Regarding disruption: all AB follow the normal rules here - but the 8 AB has the worst rules for our Detachments.

Some may think that the conferral of psychological effects outweighs these nerfs, but, in my opinion, they do not, in particular given the rise in point cost of state troops.

5
The Electors' Forum / Re: Is every1 still playing 8th ed?
« on: January 12, 2017, 01:46:59 PM »
Most importantly, as you acknowledge,  the BRB spells were not overpowered. [Note that the Comet of Casandora was a RiP spell, which under the old rules meant that the spell was ended if the Wizard attempted to cast a new spell, left the table or was slain. So, as long as the Comet was up, the Wizard could not cast a spell without terminating the Comet.] In addition, to cast a spell, wizards could use a maximum of PD equal to their level +1. In principle, the maximum number of dice a wizard could use was 5 per spell. The level was not added to the casting result. In the 7th edition, a wizard could only use the dice he himself generated and those of the common pool. To take your example, you may have had 10 PD a turn, but the lvl 4 could only use 6 of those.

To add: the spell selection was indeed random - you could not optimise the spell selection between various wizards.

6
The Electors' Forum / Re: Is every1 still playing 8th ed?
« on: January 12, 2017, 09:26:06 AM »
As has been pointed out before, one has to distinguish between the BRB and the Army Books. The magic system of the 6th and 7th BRB was as such much more balanced than that of the 8th. However, that balance was unhinged by some of the ABs.

7
The Parade Ground / Re: Modernising 7th empire to 8th -2500pts.
« on: January 11, 2017, 03:47:47 PM »
Given his last response was more than three years ago, and his last activity on this website more than two, one can suspecte his interest has waned somewhat.

8
The Parade Ground / Re: 2600 points Templar Themed Tournament Army
« on: January 11, 2017, 03:44:43 PM »
Another case of threadomancy, Noble Kohedron?
But to answer your question, anyway: If the AL would be the General, any unit within 12" could use his Ld. If they are not within range, then they would use the highest Ld within the unit.
Note that  the BSB confers bold "Hold your Ground" (as BSB) as "Hold the Line" (as Captain).

9
The Parade Ground / Re: 2000 points versus Orcs and Goblins
« on: January 10, 2017, 10:07:38 PM »
Three strikes and you are out?

10
The Parade Ground / Re: 2500 Lietpold the Black Inverted Griffon List
« on: January 10, 2017, 10:05:45 PM »
There is an ever greater smell of threadomancy in the air...

11
The Tactica Board / Re: How is Griffon Banner vs VC?
« on: January 10, 2017, 10:04:48 PM »
There is a smell of theadomancy in the air...

12
Welcome to the Empire - Help, Guides, and Rules / Re: Introduce Yourself
« on: January 06, 2017, 09:05:49 AM »
In theory, the Parade Ground is more for fine-tuning actual lists - which could include the question on gear. If it is just a more isolated question (e.g. whether DGK are better equipped with lances or halberds), the Electors' Forum is more appropriate.  But you do not need to expect the Spanish Inquisition here - only the Sigmarite....

13
The Tactica Board / Re: Take Halberds or Lances for Demigrpyh Knights?
« on: January 06, 2017, 08:59:39 AM »
Assuming that you are talking about 8th edition, here are some we prepared earlier:

http://warhammer-empire.com/theforum/index.php/topic,41638.0
http://warhammer-empire.com/theforum/index.php?topic=43107.0
http://warhammer-empire.com/theforum/index.php?topic=48250.0

The majority opinion is that it is better to keep the +1 AS provided by lances + shield, as the mounts will do most of the damage anyway.

On a side note: given that WFB is officially defunct, it is always good to clarify which edition you are playing, when asking questions about rules, equipment, tactics, etc.

14
The Electors' Forum / Re: 8th Edition charging mess
« on: January 04, 2017, 10:32:47 AM »
The starter box "empire vs. orcs" was the 6th edition. The 8th edition rules are very different. However, there is no problem in playing 6th edition rules (in particular as all WFB editions are officially defunct) - provided you all play by the same rulebook. So, if you ever have a question here pertaining rules, you need to specify which edition you are playing (as elfhunter did in the title).

15
The Electors' Forum / Re: 8th Edition charging mess
« on: January 04, 2017, 10:03:58 AM »
BRB p. 78: "This might result in both sides having charging units in the same fight, in which case the charging units on both sides will get the normal bonuses conferred by charging (e.g. causing impact hits, benefiting from a lance's Strength bonus, etc., and other bonuses described later in this Rules section). Also, both sides will get the +1 combat resolution bonus, which will effectively cancel each other out."

There is no specification that the charge boni are only effective against the unit charged. Therefore only 1) is correct.

16
The Count's Tavern / Re: gifting
« on: December 23, 2016, 12:00:59 PM »
On the one hand, well done. But the other hand now knows...

17
The Count's Tavern / Re: Painted Historical Armour
« on: December 15, 2016, 09:43:51 AM »
Depends. Protestants (who literally whitewashed churches) may have an ideologically coloured view on this. Even Antiquity had a much more coloured appearance than imagined in modern popular thought.

18
The Brush and Palette / Re: A Grand
« on: November 30, 2016, 09:22:38 PM »
That is already "k" too much.

19
I was referring to a - small but perhaps telling - spelling error.

20
The Brush and Palette / Re: How to Post Images
« on: November 22, 2016, 09:01:33 PM »
Basically, JPEGs are better for photographs, PNGs for images with few colors, or line art. 

21
The Brush and Palette / Re: How to Post Images
« on: November 22, 2016, 10:09:18 AM »
Easiest way, as said in the posts above, is to join www.photobucket.com, and upload there the picture you want to use. To the right side of the picture on photobucket you'll find several ways to "share this photo." Click on IMG: it will say copied. Simply paste in your post.

22
Better picture of Scared Scythe Knight. Thinking of changing helmet as well.
Still looking for suggestion as to a champion figure.


A knight with the hands in the air?  :engel:

23
The Town Square / Re: Some weirdness today with the website
« on: November 20, 2016, 01:36:23 PM »
Same here.

24
The Electors' Forum / Re: Question about the Border Princes
« on: November 18, 2016, 05:20:23 PM »
Monte castello does indeed have a port: it was once besieged over a year by the Orcs, and could only be supplied by sea.

25
The Electors' Forum / Re: Question about the Border Princes
« on: November 18, 2016, 04:24:59 PM »
To add: as a border post, one should not expect it itself to produce or manufacture anything that is not tied to its military role. There will be a local market to provide some basic necessities for the garrison. However, it will also be the last stopping point for international trade between Tilea and the Border Princes, also for custom and excise purposes. I presume, that trade would involve luxury products from Tilea in exchange for raw materials and basic goods/livestock from the Border Princes.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 315