home

Author Topic: The luck stone  (Read 6404 times)

Offline David22

  • Posts: 408
  • If knowledge is power, what is gunpowder?
The luck stone
« on: October 10, 2008, 04:47:29 PM »
Ive a question i didnt find with a search.... the luck stone.

Is it restricted  to only 1 per army or is it like dispel scrolls and power stones that you can have more then one and it counts as 1 choice.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2008, 01:32:44 PM by rufus sparkfire »

Offline wissenlander

  • Posts: 7156
  • The original Graf of Brennenburg
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2008, 04:54:03 PM »
To my knowledge, the Luck Stone is limited to 1 per army.
Me and Wissenlander had babies!

not together.

finding photographic evidense that Wiss smiles is going to be hard...

Offline Spiney

  • Posts: 1593
  • Merchant Prince of Marienburg
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2008, 06:33:47 PM »
It is, the only generic item that can be carried in multiples explicitly stated in the BRB are scrolls. Power stones are the only noted exception to this.

Besides, are you telling me that you think 25pts for the ability to reroll a single miscast is a good deal enough to take more than one? I guess maybe on a wizard Lord it might be worth it

Brain wounder: for when you don't want to kill your enemies, just leave them bedridden and pissing themselves.

Offline Acadian

  • Posts: 403
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2008, 06:50:39 PM »
For me, i think it is surely overpriced.
like a lot of magic items in Empire.
Only few are good to use.
But thats only my opinion.

Offline sniperjolly

  • Posts: 289
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2008, 02:48:22 AM »
hey, does The Seal of Destruction count as a scroll? not that I'd take two on a wiz lord or anything... just curious...
What's up with that Phillyt guy... he's not what I would call '' pleasant''.

Offline Rune

  • Posts: 512
  • - Fullplates and halberds -
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2008, 07:23:36 AM »
hey, does The Seal of Destruction count as a scroll? not that I'd take two on a wiz lord or anything... just curious...
Nope. Same with the Luckstone. Even though they are variations of the more basic and generic variants, they are more unique in their complexity. And, ruleswise they are not classified as Dispel Scrolls or Power Stones.

I wouldn't see a problem with multiple luckstones on a wizard lord, though. Hardly overpower, honestly. :-)
"Oh, to hades with the manners... He is a complete bastard, and calling him that insults bastards everywhere!"
-Nalia De'Arnise

The Imperial duchy of Grandbelos
Wolfenstein, the Cult of Ulric
Magocracy of Arcanschloss

Offline Spiney

  • Posts: 1593
  • Merchant Prince of Marienburg
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2008, 07:23:56 AM »
No, its a seal, not a scroll. As its rules say it just has the same effect as a dispel scroll

Brain wounder: for when you don't want to kill your enemies, just leave them bedridden and pissing themselves.

Offline Crimsonsphinx

  • Posts: 7074
  • A mind without purpose walks in dark places
    • marcwalpole
    • My Models Photobucket account
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2008, 08:37:13 AM »
Not sure you would want multiple luckstones in an average army.  Or seals of destruction for that matter. 

Only items that I am aware you can take multiples of are the dispel scroll and powerstone.  Other armies, like Skaven have a few other scrolls and warpstone tokens they can take in multiple, but we do not.
Stare into the Abyss and the Abyss stares back.

Visit my 40k blog http://2plusdispel.blogspot.com/ updated four or more times a month and offers painting advice and gaming advice for warhammer 40,000

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3893
  • let the wookie win!
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2008, 11:04:22 AM »
The luckstone... Sounds good in theory.

Last night I used it on my Wiz Lord against Soth. When I rolled a miscast with two 1's on 4 dice, I was happy to anounce "I have the luckstone!

Only to roll 3 dice on the reroll, off course.  :roll:
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2008, 02:27:20 PM »
He means "3 ones on the reroll..."  :icon_biggrin:
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline queek

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 5618
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2008, 03:49:05 PM »
For me, i think it is surely overpriced.

25 points is the going rate for a re-roll.  The Skaven have an identical item for the same price.  I don't leave the warrens without it, and I always put it on a Wizard Lord if I'm bringing one for Empire.  Miscasts are nasty, and avoiding one with a reroll is very wise.

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3893
  • let the wookie win!
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2008, 01:29:33 AM »
He means "3 ones on the reroll..."  :icon_biggrin:

Yes, I meant that. I was tired, my apologies.

And also yes, it's worth it I think (on a wizard lord at least). If only you can avoid the horrible dice rolling that I had that time.
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline blurred

  • Posts: 89
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2008, 06:49:37 PM »
If I take a wizard lord, I always take the luckstone with him. Miscasts can be deadly.
...and hell came with him...

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3893
  • let the wookie win!
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2008, 09:35:25 PM »
They are. My Wiz Lord suffered no ill results, but the magic phase was over and next turn he was charged by the pegasus captain he was about to take out...  :roll:
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2008, 05:41:28 AM »
Upon which he decided to leg it...
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3893
  • let the wookie win!
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2008, 12:16:22 PM »
Yes, of course.  :-)

In any case, I said I doubted what to take after I noticed that the Wiz Lord had two arcane items and I dropped the Grey Wand, didn't I? And I went for two power stones... I knew I should've taken the VHS instead!  :wink: Would have been a nice surprise for that captain of yours on his flying pony.
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2008, 01:03:29 PM »
Not that effective really. VHS Empire vs Empire ? No über stats to acquire...
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
Re: The LUCK STONE
« Reply #17 on: October 13, 2008, 01:34:52 PM »
Not that effective really. VHS Empire vs Empire ? No über stats to acquire...

What? A captain doesn't have better stats than a wizard lord?  :icon_lol:

I think a wizard lord should always have the speculum. And a holy relic and luckstone.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #18 on: October 13, 2008, 01:59:40 PM »
Better, but not über. And in this case, the wizard would have attacked 3 times on a 3+ to hit, 3+ to wound against a 2(3?)+ armour save, and get 3 4+ to hit, 4+ to wound attacks back. Granted, the odds get better, but I feel a wizard is better served with a warhorse or a unit of bodyguards...

When facing "the unknown army", things are quite different...
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #19 on: October 13, 2008, 02:07:46 PM »
The wizard should be on a pegasus too. Wasn't he?

Also, he'd be directing his attacks against the enemy pegasus, not the guy on top with the armour save.  :icon_smile:
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #20 on: October 13, 2008, 02:44:58 PM »
The wizard Lord was on foot... not a good idea IMHO, but that was the situation...

Also, a wizard lord should not get into combat, therefore the pegasus indeed is a good choice...
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3893
  • let the wookie win!
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #21 on: October 13, 2008, 04:55:37 PM »
No, he wasn't mounted on a pegasus. Reason: I don't have the model to do so...

Anyway, he'd have been pretty safe in a unit of state troopers, but! Given the sparsity of terrain pieces on Soth's half of the table and in the middle of the table (ie, zero terrain bar a big hill for Soth  :lol:) and the fact that he'd brought 3 HLR's, I didn't dare to do so.
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline Crimsonsphinx

  • Posts: 7074
  • A mind without purpose walks in dark places
    • marcwalpole
    • My Models Photobucket account
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #22 on: October 13, 2008, 06:13:59 PM »
If you take the Luck stone, you need someone else to hold your Rod of Power.  While not a bad thing neccersarily, I tend to have a wizard loaded with scrolls as well, so I would need three mages if I had a luck stone.

Also in my experience, you only ever miscast if you do not purchase this item.  Every game I have had a luck stone I have never needed to use it....
Stare into the Abyss and the Abyss stares back.

Visit my 40k blog http://2plusdispel.blogspot.com/ updated four or more times a month and offers painting advice and gaming advice for warhammer 40,000

Offline warhammerlord_soth

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10383
  • Eurobash : Looking for the right date. Be there !
    • My home Forum (dutch)
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #23 on: October 14, 2008, 05:30:11 AM »
If you take the Luck stone, you need someone else to hold your Rod of Power. 

And that's what you call lucky, right ?
Have one  on Midaski's tab.  :::cheers:::
Famous last words. R.I.P.

Offline Crimsonsphinx

  • Posts: 7074
  • A mind without purpose walks in dark places
    • marcwalpole
    • My Models Photobucket account
Re: The luck stone
« Reply #24 on: October 14, 2008, 01:13:31 PM »
Well that depends.  Usually I have a female mage holding my Rod of Power   :-D
Stare into the Abyss and the Abyss stares back.

Visit my 40k blog http://2plusdispel.blogspot.com/ updated four or more times a month and offers painting advice and gaming advice for warhammer 40,000