home

Author Topic: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .  (Read 10846 times)

Offline TexasYankee

  • Posts: 1146
    • View Profile
Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« on: May 31, 2011, 11:56:46 PM »
Okay, so one of my Chaos homies has the Armor of Damnation, which states attackers must re-roll all successful hits in close combat. What if the attacker can re-roll to hit? (ASF>I/Hatred/etc). How does this work out? Does the universe implode???  ::heretic:: ::heretic:: ::heretic::
So, what would you guys do if some dude came at you with a belt that way?
Make sure I've got the safeword memorised.

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2011, 12:12:13 AM »
GW have answered this in several different ways in the past!

But I think the easiest thing to do is say that the two things cancel out. So don't reroll anything.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline Syn Ace

  • Posts: 4729
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 01:00:19 AM »
I don't think they actually cancel each other out since they aren't opposing effects.  The chaos item makes you reroll the successful hits and the hatred/ASF lets you reroll the failed hits -- so I'd just reroll the whole lot again.

Or cancel it out and save time  :biggriin:  Though I imagine if you got a boatload of hits, he'd want you to reroll (and vice-versa), so just reroll them all IMO.

« Last Edit: June 01, 2011, 01:04:07 AM by [SYN] Ace »
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

William Gibson

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 01:04:26 AM »
I don't think they actually cancel each other out since they aren't opposing effects.  The chaos item makes you reroll the successful hits and the hatred/ASF lets you reroll the failed hits -- so I'd just reroll the whole lot again.

+1 this

An because you can never re-roll a re-roll the hatred does not allow you to re-roll the failed hits from the re-roll of the successful hits and nor must your (because of the chaos thing) re-roll the successful hits of the failed hits.

Offline MrDWhitey

  • Posts: 7330
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 01:05:52 AM »
So basically, you roll all the dice.

Then you roll them again.

And that's it?

I've always avoided threads about rerolls and chaos items... not healthy.
I thought he should act responsibly and just kill himself.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2011, 01:07:32 AM »
as far as I can tell yes

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2011, 01:08:47 AM »
I don't think they actually cancel each other out since they aren't opposing effects.  The chaos item makes you reroll the successful hits and the hatred/ASF lets you reroll the failed hits -- so I'd just reroll the whole lot again.

Yes, but that's ridiculous. What's the point of the first roll then?

They cancel out, or both players die of stupidity!
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2011, 01:13:36 AM »
I don't think they actually cancel each other out since they aren't opposing effects.  The chaos item makes you reroll the successful hits and the hatred/ASF lets you reroll the failed hits -- so I'd just reroll the whole lot again.

Yes, but that's ridiculous. What's the point of the first roll then?

They cancel out, or both players die of stupidity!

Indeed but you might get a different roll the second time :)

Offline MrDWhitey

  • Posts: 7330
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2011, 01:14:46 AM »
I say they settle it with machetes.
I thought he should act responsibly and just kill himself.

Offline Syn Ace

  • Posts: 4729
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2011, 01:14:54 AM »
Not really ridiculous or stupid. You can get a totally different outcome.

Well, say a lord with hatred attacks a chaos dude who has this item and rolls 4 hits and misses 1 time. Sure the chaos guy is going to want him to roll those 4 dice again -- they could all turn out to be misses.  And the lord will want to reroll his miss because it might turn out to be the only hit he gets.
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

William Gibson

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2011, 01:16:35 AM »
But the dice are always going to be rerolled no matter what the result of the first roll. So the first roll is meaningless and a complete waste of time! Skip it!
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2011, 01:19:19 AM »
But the dice are always going to be rerolled no matter what the result of the first roll. So the first roll is meaningless and a complete waste of time! Skip it!

But can you have the second roll without the first roll

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2011, 01:20:46 AM »
Stop winding me up! This is a silly argument.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline MrDWhitey

  • Posts: 7330
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2011, 01:22:07 AM »
Machetes.

It makes sense.
I thought he should act responsibly and just kill himself.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2011, 01:23:05 AM »
Stop winding me up! This is a silly argument.

Of course it is a silly argument, the answer is in the third post.   Wether or not the argument is silly does not take away from its importance.   I think you are not following the rules unless you roll the dice twice, despite the silliness involved

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2011, 01:24:33 AM »
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2011, 01:25:09 AM »
pistols at dawn,

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33265
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2011, 01:26:03 AM »
I don't like to get up that early.

Pistols at lunchtime.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #18 on: June 01, 2011, 01:30:11 AM »
Only if you bring bread rolls otherwise breakfast is as late as I can do

Offline Syn Ace

  • Posts: 4729
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2011, 01:31:50 AM »
Trust me -- with some people it will be fine with one roll -- until it's a roll they don't like, then they'll insist on going through the reroll.

I'd do it with one roll if your opponent is cool with it; if you want to avoid any quibbling with someone who lives for procedure, do both sets of rolls. It's no big deal either way if there is no bickering.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2011, 01:51:36 AM by [SYN] Ace »
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

William Gibson

Offline commandant

  • Posts: 7260
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #20 on: June 01, 2011, 01:34:19 AM »
Trust me -- with some people it will be fine with one roll

The important question though is "Is it a bread roll?" and "Are you joining the pistols at lunch?"

Offline Syn Ace

  • Posts: 4729
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #21 on: June 01, 2011, 01:37:20 AM »
I prefer 3 or more rolls -- preferably crusty ones with butter.
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

William Gibson

Offline TexasYankee

  • Posts: 1146
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #22 on: June 01, 2011, 03:56:42 AM »
Thank you, brothers, for your infinite wisdom. My mind was about to explode with trying to figure this all out, and then someone mentioned machetes . . . and then it all made sense . . . of course, as an American, I would prefer pistols, perhaps not at dawn, but certainly in Weehawken.
So, what would you guys do if some dude came at you with a belt that way?
Make sure I've got the safeword memorised.

Offline cisse

  • Posts: 3890
  • let the wookie win!
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #23 on: June 01, 2011, 05:19:57 AM »
Well...

The chaos armour makes you reroll all hits;
Hatred allows you to reroll all misses.

All rolls are either hits or misses, so yes you just have to reroll everything I'd say.
cisse

No matter how fast you run, your ass will always be in front of me...

Offline Holy Hand Grenade

  • Imperial Tactician
  • Posts: 2320
  • Never leave the Province without it...
    • View Profile
Re: Can't re-roll a re-roll . . .
« Reply #24 on: June 01, 2011, 09:31:23 AM »
I was in a bad mood until I read this post...

I would roll all the dice twice just because.  In a chaotic world, it is the only sane thing to do.

As for the pistol duel...whatever time, whatever place, whatever....  but use revolvers with only one bullet and spin them Russian Roulette style before starting. 

But you only get to pull the trigger twice...cuz you can never re-roll a re-roll.   :unsure:
If at first you don't succeed...you either don't have enough faith or you need to bring more explosives

HHG's TDG/TEG Dice Tracker