home

Author Topic: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.  (Read 30903 times)

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #50 on: October 19, 2011, 06:09:45 PM »
Movement questions!

DE vehicles are open topped, fast, skimmers. triple extra rule shenanigans!

combat speed: 6 inch move = fire all weapons, all passengers can fire but count as moving. passengers can disembark and assault.
cruising speed: 12 inch move= fire all weapons. passengers cannot fire. Passengers can disembark and assault.
flat out: 12-24 inches move, cannot shoot, passengers cannot shoot, passengers cannot disembark, but you get a 4+ ward save.
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline rufus sparkfire

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 33264
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #51 on: October 19, 2011, 06:16:46 PM »
Well, it's fire one weapon at cruising speed, not all. Plus defensive weapons, if any.

Otherwise I think that's right.
Hey, I could still beat up a woman!
If I wanted to.

Offline PhillyT

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 18331
  • Watching... always watching...
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #52 on: October 19, 2011, 08:16:51 PM »
Also if you get immobilised or destroyed after moving flat out, everyone on board the transport dies.  Always keep that in mind!
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 08:20:19 PM by PhillyT »
Where did she touch you Eight? Show us on the doll.

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #53 on: October 19, 2011, 08:28:25 PM »
What page is that on? I can't find it.
Only that you get wrecked if immobilised.
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #54 on: October 19, 2011, 08:29:35 PM »
Also if you get immobilised or destroyed after moving flat out, everyone on board the transport dies.  Always keep that in mind!

Nope! I walked into that one as well when I first read the FAQ, but you can emergency disembark, just not regularly.

Offline PhillyT

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 18331
  • Watching... always watching...
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #55 on: October 19, 2011, 08:31:27 PM »
Can they emergency disembark?  Are you sure?
Where did she touch you Eight? Show us on the doll.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #56 on: October 19, 2011, 08:40:47 PM »
Pretty sure.

Offline PhillyT

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 18331
  • Watching... always watching...
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #57 on: October 19, 2011, 08:43:58 PM »
Reread it.  It says emergency disembarks are only for those times the doors are blocked by the enemy or impassable terrain.  The flat out rules for fast vehicles clearly says if you move flat out people cannot get in or get out.
Where did she touch you Eight? Show us on the doll.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #58 on: October 19, 2011, 08:50:08 PM »
Ah, now I remember what the kicker was.

FAQ:
Q: If a transport vehicle is destroyed in the same turn as
it moved flat out what happens to any embarked
models? (p70)
A: They are removed as casualties.


Note "SAME TURN". If you move flat out and your opponent shoots it down, it is not the same turn anymore.
If you immobilize yourself due to terrain, ramming or other shenanigans while doing the actual move (or if you somehow manage to shoot down your own vehicle) your models are indeed toast.

Offline PhillyT

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 18331
  • Watching... always watching...
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #59 on: October 19, 2011, 08:52:32 PM »
But does that count as in my turn 3 and then your turn 3 or are those considered different turns.  Or are they two halves of the same turn?  If so, that gives a lot of reason to allow your opponent to go first!
Where did she touch you Eight? Show us on the doll.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #60 on: October 19, 2011, 08:54:32 PM »
But does that count as in my turn 3 and then your turn 3 or are those considered different turns.  Or are they two halves of the same turn?  If so, that gives a lot of reason to allow your opponent to go first!

It means player turn, not game turn. Like you say - gameturn wouldn't make any sense.

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #61 on: October 19, 2011, 08:57:37 PM »
hmm.

It seems odd to stipulate if it gets destroyed on the same turn... because it is fairly unlikely to happen, isn't it?

The rules are so unclear it could mean player or game turn, and i can't really see anyway to resolve it.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 08:59:40 PM by Finlay »
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline PhillyT

  • The Old Ones
  • Posts: 18331
  • Watching... always watching...
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #62 on: October 19, 2011, 08:58:52 PM »
Well good, I can start going 18" with my trukks again!
Where did she touch you Eight? Show us on the doll.

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #63 on: October 19, 2011, 09:07:21 PM »
get ready to argue with your opponent over something which is completely ambigious!
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #64 on: October 19, 2011, 09:08:03 PM »
hmm.

It seems odd to stipulate if it gets destroyed on the same turn... because it is fairly unlikely to happen, isn't it?
Unlikely, but entirely possible.

The rules are so unclear it could mean player or game turn, and i can't really see anyway to resolve it.
Consensus on the net is player turn, which makes sense.
Just imagine the following conversation:
"OK, I hit with my missile launcher *clatter* penetrate! *clatter* immobilized, which means destroyed."
"All right, we have turn 5 now. Who had first turn?"
"You did."
"Drat. In that case they're dead. If you had gone first they'd be fine."

Convinced?

Offline MrDWhitey

  • Posts: 7330
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #65 on: October 19, 2011, 09:10:27 PM »
hmm.

It seems odd to stipulate if it gets destroyed on the same turn... because it is fairly unlikely to happen, isn't it?
Unlikely, but entirely possible.

I've done it.
I thought he should act responsibly and just kill himself.

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #66 on: October 19, 2011, 09:52:37 PM »
That certainly makes sense Aldaris. Although you forgot the dark eldar player failing his 4+ invulnerable too  :mrgreen:

I can imagine it being a horrid argument if you were playing someone you didn't know who did it the other way though!
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #67 on: October 19, 2011, 10:16:22 PM »
Although you forgot the dark eldar player failing his 4+ invulnerable too  :mrgreen:

Curses!

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #68 on: October 19, 2011, 10:23:44 PM »
New IG list:

CCS, powersword, Missile launcher 75 pts

PCS, 3 flamers. 45
squad, autocannon, gl 65
squad, autocannon, gl 65
squad, autocannon, gl 65

Vet squad, 3 plasma, chimera 170 pts
Vet squad, 3 melta, chimera 155 pts
Vet squad, Harker, 3 melta, chimera, 210 pts

Scout Sentinel, autocannon 40 pts
scout sentinel, autocannon, 40 pts.
Hellhound 130

Leman Russ 150
LRD 165
Basilisk 125

CCS and the platoon sit on/near my home objective, and try to pop transports. The tanks and artillery do what they do.
The sentinels outflank and try and pop rear armour/draw fire.
The plasma vet squad start on the board, the melta and hellhound are in reserve

All I'd need for this would be a Harker (I'd plan to use my Tallarnians for that squad... But might be tricky to convert a tallarnian to be carrying a HB?) and another Chimera. Bit more mobile, bit more deploment options.
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #69 on: October 19, 2011, 10:26:28 PM »
Nice, I like it. it would be cool if the CCS could get some specials as well to make use of their BS, but this is already pretty lean.

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #70 on: October 19, 2011, 10:36:54 PM »
I realised I need an astropath, so I'd have to cut the missile launcher, and all the GL

Although it makes your reserves come on quicker, which you might not necesarily want. It should be add or minus 1.

I should get a vendy really, but they are expensive, I don't fancy painting one, and they look hard to transport.

alternative list:
ccs, powersword, astropath, lascannon, 110 pts

PCS, Al Rahem, Chimera, 4 meltas, 195
squad, AC, flamer, chimera 120 pts
squad, AC, flamer, chimera 120 pts

pcs, ac. 2 flamers 50
squad, ac 60
squad, ac. 60

Vet squad, 3 plasma, lascannon, chimera 190 pts
Vet squad, 3 melta, chimera 155 pts

Leman Russ 150
LRD 165
Basilisk 125

Downsides: spending 110 points on transports for shit troops. having to buy 3 Chimeras.
upsides: reasonable bunker for home objectives, plus 2 more dispensible vet squads in chimeras. Al rahem to come on and claim/contest objectives, and destroy rear armour.
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #71 on: October 19, 2011, 10:44:44 PM »
I like the first one better, although the second one could be improved by a few tweaks. Buying heavy weapons for Al's dudes is not very efficient, the earliest those could get a shot off would be turn 3 (since you can't fire the turn you move onto the board). Spend those points elsewhere, and you might be on to something. I also wouldn't buy the embarked Al'Rahem troops flamers, since that is pretty well covered by the three chimeras they come with. Plasma or Melta would be better for them I think.


Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #72 on: October 19, 2011, 11:01:53 PM »
I prefer the first list, because it makes use of the hellhound and sentinels I just bought.

There are two nice Tallarn chimeras on ebay atm. Might see if I can snag them, then worry about Harker.
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.

Offline Aldaris

  • Posts: 7385
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #73 on: October 20, 2011, 07:29:49 AM »
I prefer the first list, because it makes use of the hellhound and sentinels I just bought.
Well, that's not a bad reason!
 :happy:

Offline Finlay

  • Posts: 18058
  • C'mon Son
    • View Profile
Re: Finlay's 40k thread for silly questions. Currently pondering a DE army.
« Reply #74 on: October 21, 2011, 06:44:36 PM »




I like these! I want my armour to be the colour of these guys helmets
I don't care about the rules.

Pass the machete.