home

Author Topic: Warrior priest in demigryph units?  (Read 4175 times)

Offline Herrn

  • Members
  • Posts: 17
Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« on: May 28, 2015, 06:19:49 AM »
Hello everyone!

 Hope i poster this question in the right forum!

Is it possible for a warrior priest on a warhorse to join a demigryph unit (it seems to be, but want to make sure)? And if it is, would it be beneficial to out him in one?

Thanks!

Offline Fidelis von Sigmaringen

  • Members
  • Posts: 9694
  • Attorney-at-RAW
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 07:24:21 AM »
Yes. BRB p. 97: "A character is normally permitted to join units of infantry, beasts, cavalry, monstrous infantry, monstrous beasts or monstrous cavalry."

Usually, a WP is better placed in another unit, as he cannot benefit from the "Look out, Sir" rule with DGKs, and his Righteous Fury does not affect mounts any longer.
It is not enough to have no ideas of your own; you must also be incapable of expressing them.
Sex, lies and manuscripts: The History of the Empire as Depicted in the Art of the Time (10/07/16)

Offline Herrn

  • Members
  • Posts: 17
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2015, 01:33:04 PM »
Ok! So if i understood it right it is mostly the demigryph itself that does the most damage so the priest would not be that effective in that unit since he dont affect the demogryph?

Offline carmaul

  • Members
  • Posts: 577
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2015, 01:54:52 PM »
Hammer of Sigmar would affect the demigryph, and Shield of Faith would provide a 5++ ward save in close combat for the model.

Offline Jomppexx

  • Members
  • Posts: 830
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2015, 02:08:58 PM »
Now I actually want to test out a mounted Warrior priest in a unit of demigryphs, just to get some prayers.
"Sigmar is like a barbaric, warrior Jesus, and only appeared to be a mortal man."
Highlights :
8/2014 : Grandmaster slew a Chaos Lord in a challenge

Offline blackcat

  • Members
  • Posts: 24
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2015, 04:48:17 AM »
To be honest I have found that Mounted Warrior priests work best in knight units. You get more use out of their abilities than in a demigryph unit. As has been said as well they cannot look out sir which is a big problem when playing against, empire, dwarves, ogres or daemons.

Offline emcdunna

  • Members
  • Posts: 1435
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2015, 04:51:05 PM »
He won't have a Look out sir! Roll, so they can fire cannonballs, catapults, etc. Right at the priest and kill hims.

The prayers may affect the demigryphs, but what about hatred? Or the reroll to wound?

Yeah TBH, mounted warrior priests are perfect in units of knights, not in demis. DGK are perfect by themselves, they need no support

Offline carmaul

  • Members
  • Posts: 577
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2015, 05:07:27 PM »
He won't have a Look out sir! Roll, so they can fire cannonballs, catapults, etc. Right at the priest and kill hims.

The prayers may affect the demigryphs, but what about hatred? Or the reroll to wound?

Hatred would affect the rider, not the demigryph.  Shield of Faith would affect the whole model (making it 1+/5++ in combat) and Hammer of Sigmar would affect both the rider and the demigryph. Soulfire would affect any enemy models in contact with the WP.

Offline Fidelis von Sigmaringen

  • Members
  • Posts: 9694
  • Attorney-at-RAW
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2015, 05:37:02 PM »
Soulfire would affect any enemy models in contact with the WP.

And give the whole unit Flaming Attacks. Of course, you first need to get the prayers off.

It is not enough to have no ideas of your own; you must also be incapable of expressing them.
Sex, lies and manuscripts: The History of the Empire as Depicted in the Art of the Time (10/07/16)

Offline emcdunna

  • Members
  • Posts: 1435
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2015, 08:12:24 PM »
Now if you could mount a warrior priest on a demigryph....

But noooo, stupid army book riders didn't like that.

Personally (however OP it'd be) i'd love to see a grandmaster, captain, general, witch hunter, warrior priest, and arch lector all able to take a demigryph as a mount for +60 pts.

Offline Fidelis von Sigmaringen

  • Members
  • Posts: 9694
  • Attorney-at-RAW
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2015, 08:17:07 PM »
The Grandmaster, and perhaps the general, but not the rest.
It is not enough to have no ideas of your own; you must also be incapable of expressing them.
Sex, lies and manuscripts: The History of the Empire as Depicted in the Art of the Time (10/07/16)

Offline emcdunna

  • Members
  • Posts: 1435
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2015, 11:00:53 PM »
Grand master and general for sure.

The rest are just my way of balancing out howw utterly outgunned our characters are to other factions.

Over the top? Yes. But that's what everyone else gets.

Offline Jomppexx

  • Members
  • Posts: 830
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2015, 10:08:15 AM »
Grandmaster definitely.
Captain and General, maybe.
Warrior Priests, Lectors and Witch Hunters definitely no.
"Sigmar is like a barbaric, warrior Jesus, and only appeared to be a mortal man."
Highlights :
8/2014 : Grandmaster slew a Chaos Lord in a challenge

Offline carmaul

  • Members
  • Posts: 577
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2015, 03:44:02 PM »
I could see adding it to a Witch Hunter if they added a Lord level Witch Hunter.  Something like "Master Witch Hunter"

Offline emcdunna

  • Members
  • Posts: 1435
Re: Warrior priest in demigryph units?
« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2015, 04:46:34 PM »
What about just "Daemon hunter" or like "Lord Inquisitor"?

But yeah, demigryph mounted characters would have been awesome