home

Author Topic: Clash of the humies  (Read 4048 times)

Offline plaguelord

• Members
Clash of the humies
« on: June 25, 2003, 11:51:11 AM »
Any ideas on how to compose a Empire army capable of crushing the Bretonians...I'm playing a small 1000pt battle on Wednesday night and need some tips as I've never played the Bretonians... it looks to be a grim confrontation for the empire as their "reliance" on missile weapons can be impeded by the Lady in the Lake... and the Bretonian charge is intimidating to say the least.
I'm also pretty new to the Empire army, so any tips for this confrontation would be great:

1 helblaster
1 cannon
5 knights of the white wolf (inner circle +command)
5 regular knights (inner circle +command)
5 huntsmen
20 helbediers with command
1 captain with full plate, enchanted shield + magic sword (which one?)
-he should be able to challenge, and defeat even a mounted Bretonian lord.
detachment of 8 handgunners
Level 2 wizard with wizards staff

Like I said, I'm new to this list, so please help if you can?
I'm concerned that infantry, even with detachments, would be impoten vs Bret knights, as they dont get rank bonuses, and 2+ armour saves are a bit daunting for the empire rank 'n files...
Thanks...

Offline Atchman

• The Old Ones
  • Members
Clash of the humies
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2003, 02:22:52 PM »
In a 1000 pt game, you will be seriously challenged.  His army will be small and compact, probably a couple of lances of knights.  

His lances will be pretty small, but he can outcharge you with his longer charge range.  The good thing is he probably won't take the Banner of the Lady.  

You may want with a couple of blocks of infantry, prefeably one with shields, like swordsmen.  The high WS of the swordsmen will make it harder for him to hit with his knights of the Realm.