home

Author Topic: Gleaming Pennant  (Read 4221 times)

Offline codger69

  • Members
  • Posts: 128
Gleaming Pennant
« on: March 05, 2013, 05:32:58 PM »
Right then chaps,

Can someone answer me this as have an important game on Saturday.

If my unit with the gleaming pennant is within 12" of the battle standard bearer, what happens???

Do I get the banner reroll first, or the pennant first???

Now this is wishful thinking, do I get the banner reroll and then if that is failed, the gleaming pennant as well!

Thoughts please

 :::cheers:::

Offline polybus11

  • Members
  • Posts: 764
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 05:53:39 PM »
My thoughts is first fail is first fail so you don't get to save it even while you are in range of BSB and of course no reroll of a reroll.

Offline Noght

  • Members
  • Posts: 3187
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 06:01:35 PM »
No re-rolls of re-rolls.  Page 7 of the BRB, ironically titled "Re-Rolls".

You use the BSB re-roll and attempt to preserve the Pendant.  Of course what you should do it use the Pendant bearing unit (Knights or Demigryphs is my guess) outside the BSB bubble.

"...the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance which fancies it knows everything..."  Camus.

Offline zakalwe

  • Members
  • Posts: 226
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2013, 06:34:48 PM »
I think also i could be wrong, that the BSB re-roll is mandatory, if you are in range. In which case it would have to take precedence of the pennant, i believe.


Offline codger69

  • Members
  • Posts: 128
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2013, 10:03:15 PM »
Don't have demi chicks and my knights are cannon fodder!

So my greatswords need to survive so the extra LD test against a DE gunline and magic is the plan  ::heretic::

 :::cheers:::

Offline Thirsty Beaver

  • Members
  • Posts: 333
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2013, 01:26:27 AM »
On this topic, how does the Hammer of Sigmar prayer work against an opponent with the Rogue Helm?

No re-rolls of re-rolls, so the helm just auto-deletes that spell for attacks made against it?
them are some stupid and ugly ass pieces. Griffons without wings? Sure as hell ain't touching my army.

Offline Noght

  • Members
  • Posts: 3187
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2013, 03:51:06 AM »
On this topic, how does the Hammer of Sigmar prayer work against an opponent with the Rogue Helm?

No re-rolls of re-rolls, so the helm just auto-deletes that spell for attacks made against it?

Stick with the first roll, no re-rolls at all.  From the FAQ.

Q: If a model is granted a re-roll To Hit from a special rule such
as Hatred but the model they are attacking has a special rule,
magic item etc. that forces successful To Hit rolls to be re-rolled,
how is this dealt with? (p7)
A: They cancel each other out and no re-rolls are made for as
long as both special rules are in effect.

I had this happen with with the Goblin spell Sneaky Stabbin' (re-roll failed wounds) vs a KDaii Destroyer (re-roll successful wounds).  Just keep the first roll.
"...the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance which fancies it knows everything..."  Camus.

Offline Thirsty Beaver

  • Members
  • Posts: 333
Re: Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2013, 05:16:37 AM »
On this topic, how does the Hammer of Sigmar prayer work against an opponent with the Rogue Helm?

No re-rolls of re-rolls, so the helm just auto-deletes that spell for attacks made against it?

Stick with the first roll, no re-rolls at all.  From the FAQ.

Q: If a model is granted a re-roll To Hit from a special rule such
as Hatred but the model they are attacking has a special rule,
magic item etc. that forces successful To Hit rolls to be re-rolled,
how is this dealt with? (p7)
A: They cancel each other out and no re-rolls are made for as
long as both special rules are in effect.

I had this happen with with the Goblin spell Sneaky Stabbin' (re-roll failed wounds) vs a KDaii Destroyer (re-roll successful wounds).  Just keep the first roll.

Thanks Noght! I woulda killed that damn Chaos Sorcery  :icon_mad:
them are some stupid and ugly ass pieces. Griffons without wings? Sure as hell ain't touching my army.

Offline theorox

  • Members
  • Posts: 251
Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2013, 07:09:43 AM »
The pennant is spent on the first failed LD test, even if you are within range of the BSB.

Theo

Offline theorox

  • Members
  • Posts: 251
Gleaming Pennant
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2013, 07:12:22 AM »
The pennant is spent on the first failed LD test, even if you are within range of the BSB. The Pennant very clearly says it can be used on the *first* failed LD test, so after that it doesn't work.

Theo