home

Author Topic: Rules Question - templates  (Read 1640 times)

Offline The Peacemaker

  • Members
  • Posts: 2349
  • Baron Karl von Balombine of Wissenland
Rules Question - templates
« on: March 08, 2013, 09:42:44 AM »
I played a game the other week and I took cannons and mortars. Anyway, one time when I wanted to shoot my cannon my opponent said that I can't place the cannonball in such a way that it will go through combat.
I thought the rule was I can't place the first point ontop of any unit in combat. If it bounces, then it goes wherever.
In this situation I was aiming for his corpse cart but his units close by where in combat.

Another question regarding the above but with the mortar. If I place the large blast on the corpse cart but part of the blast is on top of a unit in combat can I still do that? I figured it was you can't place the center on anything in combat.
For Wissenland and the Countess!!!

My Painting Blog
My Entire Gallery

Offline Lord Solar Plexus

  • Members
  • Posts: 3212
Re: Rules Question - templates
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2013, 10:10:31 AM »
With the cannon template, you a) cannot pick a starting point in a combat and b) no firing lane on which it might potentially end up there.

With the mortar template, you are only bound by a).

The difference is the scatter. Scattering templates may end up on top of a combat.
Suppose you were an idiot, and suppose you were a member of Congress; but I repeat myself. - S. Clemens

www.tablepott.de - Wir sind das Ruhrgebiet!
www.rheinerftliga.haarrrgh.de

Offline Noght

  • Members
  • Posts: 3187
Re: Rules Question - templates
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2013, 01:12:45 PM »
LSP has it right.  Cannons can't be targeted anywhere there is a chance of hitting your own troops.  Scatter is scatter, you can't start touching your own troops or units in combat.
"...the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance which fancies it knows everything..."  Camus.

Offline Aineias The Scarred

  • Members
  • Posts: 81
  • Audax dux
Re: Rules Question - templates
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2013, 07:33:29 PM »
LSP has it right.  Cannons can't be targeted anywhere there is a chance of hitting your own troops.  Scatter is scatter, you can't start touching your own troops or units in combat.
You say "your own troops", but even the enemy's ones involved in combat right?
"In pace, ut sapiens, aptarit idonea bello"

Offline Noght

  • Members
  • Posts: 3187
Re: Rules Question - templates
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2013, 08:04:34 PM »
LSP has it right.  Cannons can't be targeted anywhere there is a chance of hitting your own troops.  Scatter is scatter, you can't start touching your own troops or units in combat.
You say "your own troops", but even the enemy's ones involved in combat right?
Basic shooting rules say you may not shoot into combat. 
"...the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance which fancies it knows everything..."  Camus.

Offline The Peacemaker

  • Members
  • Posts: 2349
  • Baron Karl von Balombine of Wissenland
Re: Rules Question - templates
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2013, 10:37:18 PM »
So you can basically hide your chariots/big things behind a big bus of troops in combat.  Interesting.
Well, even more reason to put the cannons on the far sides of the board.
For Wissenland and the Countess!!!

My Painting Blog
My Entire Gallery