Warhammer-Empire.com

The Empire at War ... The Gamers Guild => WHFB The Electors' Forum => Topic started by: Samuel Bishop on February 28, 2013, 07:03:03 AM

Title: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Samuel Bishop on February 28, 2013, 07:03:03 AM
What counts a unit?

The other day i was having a 2 v 2 game (1k each) and was wondering this.

A war machine? A detachment? Or only r'n'f units?

Samuel
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: The Peacemaker on February 28, 2013, 07:09:39 AM
any kind of stand alone unit. - that is moved separately, charged separately, and such.

Not sure if heroe's and lords count. I know they will count if they are on a monster. 
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: TheBelgianGuy on February 28, 2013, 07:53:46 AM
any kind of stand alone unit. - that is moved separately, charged separately, and such.

Not sure if heroe's and lords count. I know they will count if they are on a monster.

I'm thinking heros and lords don't count?
I'm just wondering now whether detachments count. They don't according to Army Builder, but I'm to lazy to check our book.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Lord Solar Plexus on February 28, 2013, 11:19:14 AM
Characters are generally units of their own but do not count towards the number of minimum units needed for a legal list. Detachments do.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: The Peacemaker on February 28, 2013, 08:37:32 PM
I'm pretty sure detatchments count. They can be targeted, they take their own tests, etc...
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Darknight on February 28, 2013, 08:50:09 PM
So that army of 10 archers and two detachements of 5 archers and a Warrior Priest is totally legal . . .
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: The Peacemaker on February 28, 2013, 09:00:28 PM
So that army of 10 archers and two detachements of 5 archers and a Warrior Priest is totally legal . . .

Why wouldn't it be? Doesn't sound strange to me at all.  If your playing a 205pt game then what else would you take?
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Thirsty Beaver on February 28, 2013, 09:49:10 PM
p.30 in the AB:

"make sure your opponent is aware of which units  in your army are regimental units, and which are detachments"

This would suggest a parent unit with detachments is not a single unit like I have always treated it (due to victory point and deployment rules). There is a regimental unit (1), and up to two other units as detachments (2, & 3). Separate yet together
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: The Ol Perfesser on February 28, 2013, 10:33:34 PM
I would agree that detachments are now separate units.  I don't have my army book with me right now...it used to be that detachments had to be deployed at the same time as their parent unit.
I think that still holds true.

So, if your army consisted of a parent unit with two detachments & your leaders, you would just have two drops.  Correct?

First you place the parent and its detachments, then you add your leaders.....Done.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: rothgar13 on March 01, 2013, 02:24:43 AM
All true, yes.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Delthos on March 01, 2013, 05:27:47 AM
On page 134 of the mini rule book, under The General, it says "An army must always include at least one Lord or Hero to be its General." Then under Minimum Three Units it says, "An army must always include at least three units in addition to any Lords and Heroes." So that means Heroes and Lords do not count towards the minimum. It pretty much makes it impossible to play below a certain points level, unless you ignore those minimums.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Lord Solar Plexus on March 01, 2013, 07:22:19 AM
This would suggest a parent unit with detachments is not a single unit like I have always treated it (due to victory point and deployment rules).

VP rules have nothing to do with it and have never indicated that two units were one.
Title: Re: Minimun 3 units
Post by: Thirsty Beaver on March 01, 2013, 06:04:11 PM
This would suggest a parent unit with detachments is not a single unit like I have always treated it (due to victory point and deployment rules).

VP rules have nothing to do with it and have never indicated that two units were one.

In learning to play with detachments, I used to think of them as a unit upgrade like FC or shields. I now understand that VP does not make 2 units 1. Thank you..