home

Author Topic: Dispel Scroll  (Read 2246 times)

Offline codger69

  • Members
  • Posts: 128
Dispel Scroll
« on: March 03, 2013, 05:24:01 PM »
Quick question as this confused me on Friday???  :eusa_wall:

I was playing a 1k game and my fire wizard miscast on her first turn!!! ::heretic::

She then rolled a 10 and lost a level, therefore no more magic!!! :eusa_wall:

Turn 2 I used her dispel scroll, is this legal as she no longer is a spell caster???

Thoughts please

 :::cheers:::

Offline Noght

  • Members
  • Posts: 3187
Re: Dispel Scroll
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 05:45:02 PM »
Quick question as this confused me on Friday???  :eusa_wall:

I was playing a 1k game and my fire wizard miscast on her first turn!!! ::heretic::

She then rolled a 10 and lost a level, therefore no more magic!!! :eusa_wall:

Turn 2 I used her dispel scroll, is this legal as she no longer is a spell caster???

Thoughts please

 :::cheers:::

Can still use the Scroll.  Even if she had Zero levels, she's still a Wizard and can use Arcane Items. 

Quote
Q: If a Wizard has had his level reduced to 0 does he still counts as
a Wizard and can he still attempt to channel Power and Dispel
dice? (p28)
A: Yes.

Only thing in the FAQ, key line is the "still counts as a Wizard".
"...the most incorrigible vice being that of an ignorance which fancies it knows everything..."  Camus.

Offline codger69

  • Members
  • Posts: 128
Re: Dispel Scroll
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 06:07:24 PM »
Cheers Noght, I didn't know she could still channel dice, that will be useful

 :::cheers:::

Offline Fidelis von Sigmaringen

  • Members
  • Posts: 9760
  • Attorney-at-RAW
Re: Dispel Scroll
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2013, 08:55:14 PM »
This is even more explicit (BRB Official Update Version 1.7 p. 12:

Q: Can a Wizard, who has had his Wizard level reduced to 0, still use any arcane items that he has? (Reference)
A: Yes.
It is not enough to have no ideas of your own; you must also be incapable of expressing them.
Sex, lies and manuscripts: The History of the Empire as Depicted in the Art of the Time (10/07/16)

Offline dseevers1854

  • Members
  • Posts: 199
Re: Dispel Scroll
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2013, 04:33:45 PM »
Marginally off topic, may Warrior Priests carry dispel scrolls since they can channel and have spells? I only ask because nowhere in their descriptor does it give them a wizard level.

Offline Syn Ace

  • Members
  • Posts: 4761
  • Misinterpreting GW rules since 1991
Re: Dispel Scroll
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2013, 04:50:31 PM »
Warrior Priests "can channel power and dispel dice in the same manner as Wizards" but they are not actually wizards but use bound spells (prayers) and because they are not listed as wizards, they do not have access to Arcane items.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2013, 04:55:01 PM by Syn Ace »
Before you diagnose yourself with depression or low self-esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, just surrounding yourself with assholes.

— Popularly but incorrectly attributed to William Gibson